2009 – To infinity and beyond!
Katie’s intentional and accidental adventures in SE Asia

You have Beautiful Shoes. Why Thank You, I have 3 pairs!

Beauitful Shoes on Street 143 in Phnom Penh

Beauitful Shoes on Street 143 in Phnom Penh

It took me awhile, but I finally succumed to the temptation and went to street 143 in Phnom Penh for must first Beautiful Shoes experience. I had heard about this leather shop from countless female expats but somehow was able to stay away for my first 4 months here. No longer.

When you walk into Beautiful Shoes, there are tons of mens and womens sandals, dress shoes, flats, heals, and wedges on display. You can also sketch your own design, or bring in a picture from a magazine, and they will make an exact copy! I’ve had friends bring in Gucci adds and walk away very happy with the results and thrilled to tears about the price. Once you communicate what kind of design you want, the cobble hands you wheel of about 200 leather samples to choose from in any color and texture imaginable. Then they trace your feet on a piece of paper and take a few other measurements. 7 days later, you come back and get your Beautiful Shoes!

Can I show off what I’ve got so far?

Gladiator variation

Gladiator variation $20

Beat that Russel Crow

Beat that Russel Crow

Top View. Maybe I should be a foot model? Nah.

Top View. Maybe I should be a foot model? Nah.

My Go-to gold sling back flip flops $16

My Go-to gold sling back flip flops $16

Probably going to get these in silver too

Probably going to get these in silver too

Brown Mary Jane's $18

Brown Mary Jane's $18

Needed heals to wear with my suite at UN conference

Needed heals to wear with my suite at UN conference

Didn't own any brown heals until now!

Didn't own any brown heals until now!

Oh they make belts too! My first Obi wrap!

Oh they make belts too! My first Obi wrap!

I’m afraid I’m hooked. Custom made shoes for under $20? Yes please. Even if they aren’t perfect it is a pretty darn good deal and a chance to get stuff that is a little different that I would not take a risk on at a higher price in the states. Shoes make a girl feel good, which is perhaps more needed in my jungle phase of life in a developing country than my stateside endeavors. Lets call them functional souvenirs. No other “projects” are in the works for now but open to suggestions. I will probably wait until right before I come home to go gangbusters on the shoes. I am after all limited by making no money and only being able to take 2 pieces of luggage on the plane 🙂

One Response to “You have Beautiful Shoes. Why Thank You, I have 3 pairs!”

  1. Ummmmm…THESE ARE THE SHOES YOU WERE TALKING ABOUT???? Count me jealous. Gorgeous I say!


Leave a Reply

